Your appointment with the history of science

Biographies

The biographies of the "Scientist of the Month" cycle are written by the professor. Philippe JAUSSAUDUniversity Claude Bernard Lyon 1, EA 4148 "Science & Society: Historicity, Education, Practices" (S2HEP).

The illustrations

The illustrations for the "Scientist of the Month" cycle are created by students of the Emile Cohl school under the supervision of Olivier JOUVRAY.

Sannié

Charles, Noël, Eugène SANNIÉ was born on December 28, 1896 in Janville (Eure-et-Loire). He was awarded a doctorate in medicine and a degree in science (1922), then an agrégation in biological chemistry in Nancy (1926). He finally returned to the capital where he simultaneously became a professor without a chair, head of the chemistry department at the Cancer Institute of Villejuif and director of the forensic identification services of the Prefecture of Police (1930). Sannié was appointed professor at the Faculty of Medicine in Paris (1938), before holding the chair of "Chemistry applied to organized bodies" at the National Museum of Natural History (1941). He died of illness on 29 March 1957 in Paris. The scientist's work, which was very varied, concerned organic synthesis, chemical carcinogenesis and phytochemistry. In addition, like Lacassagne, Bertillon and Locard, Sannié was a pioneer in forensics and forensics. He published La Recherche scientifique du criminel (1954) and co-authored Instructions pratiques pour le relevé correct d'empreintes fingerprints (1940), as well as Éléments de police scientifique (1938-1940).

Illustration : Alice Guirado

Anthony

Jean Anthony was born on 23 February 1915 in Châteaulin (Finistère). After a baccalauréat ès lettres (1932), a doctorate in medicine (1939) and a doctorate in science (1946), he made a career in several establishments: at the National Museum of Natural History - where he finally occupied the chair of "Comparative Anatomy" (1962) -, at the CNRS and at the Paris Dental School. Anthony retired in 1984 and passed away on 1 May 2004 in Brest. In the field of descriptive and comparative anatomy of vertebrates, his work concerned the venomous apparatus of snakes and the brains and teeth of mammals. Anthony also describes, with his colleague Professor Jacques Millot (1897-1980), the anatomy of the Coelacanth. The latter work has produced a monumental treatise in three volumes, (Anatomie de Latimeria chalumnae, 1958-1978) and a popularisation work (Opération Coelacanthe, 1976).

Illustration : Camille Peyrard

Becquerel

Born on 7 March 1788 in Châtillon-sur-Loing (Loiret), Antoine-César Becquerel studied at the École Polytechnique. He initially pursued a military career. Retired from the army in 1815, Antoine-César devoted the rest of his professional life to research. He entered the Academy of Sciences (1828) and became the first professor of "Physics applied to natural sciences" at the National Museum of Natural History (1838). Being interested in mineralogy, as well as in several fields of physics, the scientist discovered fundamental laws. He also innovated on a technical level, designing a constant-action battery, an electromagnetic balance, a differential galvanometer, an electric thermometer, electroplating, a synthesis of mineral crystals, and so on. Antoine-César died in Paris on January 18, 1878, initiating a long scholarly dynasty: his son Edmond, his grandson Henri - discoverer of natural radioactivity - and his great grandson Jean will succeed one another in his chair of the Jardin des Plantes.

Beauregard

Son of a hospital practitioner, Henri Emmanuel BEAUREGARD (1851-1900) was born on December 6, 1851 in Le Havre. He studied medicine and pharmacy in Paris, becoming Doctor of Science (1873), Doctor of Medicine (1877) and Associate of Pharmacy (1879). After beginning a teaching career at the École supérieure de Pharmacie de Paris, Beauregard left this establishment to become a naturalist assistant to the chair of "Comparative Anatomy" at the Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle (1883). He ended his career as professor of "Cryptogamy" at the Faculty of Pharmacy in Paris (1898) and died prematurely in Grasse on March 25, 1900. Beauregard's work concerned the vascularisation of the eye of vertebrates, the anatomy of cetaceans, comparative osteology, the anatomy and biology of vesicant insects, as well as the Cryptogams of ambergris. In addition to all this, there are several educational works (microscopy, medical matter, etc.).

Illustration: Maxence Vandier

Chauveau

Son of a blacksmith, Jean-Baptiste Augustin [dit Auguste] CHAUVEAU (1827-1917) studied veterinary medicine at the Alfort school (1844-1848). He then moved to Lyon, where he held two chairs: "Anatomy and Physiology" at the Veterinary School (1863) and "Experimental and Comparative Medicine" at the Faculty of Medicine and Pharmacy (1877). Finally, Chauveau was the last professor of "Comparative Pathology" at the National Museum of Natural History (1886-1914). His work, for which he entered the Academy of Sciences (1886), was brilliant. Chauveau described - with Étienne-Jules Marey - the various phases of the contractile work of the heart, thus founding modern cardiology. He also studied neurology, bioenergetics and infectious pathology. Chauveau senses the microbial origin of animal diseases, demonstrates the uniqueness of human and bovine tuberculosis and prepares a vaccine against anthrax.

Illustration : Floriane Lingat

Lacépède

Of noble lineage, Bernard, Germain Étienne de LAVILLE-SUR-ILLON, Count de LA CEPÈDE (or LACÉPÈDE) (1756-1825) had a passion for music and science. Buffon, whom he admired, appointed him warden of the cabinet in the King's Garden (1784). After the fall of the Ancien Régime, Lacepède became professor of "Zoology (Reptiles and Fish)" at the National Museum of Natural History and member of the Academy of Sciences (1795). His political career was no less brilliant: deputy of the Constituent and Legislative Assemblies, Grand Chancellor of the Legion of Honour, Count of the Empire, Minister of State, Peer of France, Grand Master of the University, Lacepède accumulated honours. He is notably the author of a Natural History of the Oviparous Quadrupeds and Snakes (1788-1789) and of a great Natural History of Fish (1798-1803), which extend Buffon's work.

You are donating to: Greennature Foundation

How much would you like to donate?
$10 $20 $30
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Phone
Address
Additional Note
paypalstripe
Loading...

Votre rendez-vous avec l’histoire des sciences

Les biographies

Les biographie du cycle “Le savant du mois” sont rédigées par le professeur Philippe JAUSSAUD, Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1, EA 4148 « Science & Société : Historicité, Éducation, Pratiques » (S2HEP).

Les illustrations

Les illustrations du cycle “Le savant du mois” sont réalisées par les étudiants de l’école Emile Cohl sous la supervision d’Olivier JOUVRAY.

mars 2019

Sannié

Charles, Noël, Eugène SANNIÉ vient au monde le 28 décembre 1896 à Janville (Eure-et- Loire). Docteur en médecine et licenciè-ès-sciences (1922), puis agrégé de chimie biologique à Nancy (1926), il rejoint finalement la capitale où il devient simultanément professeur sans chaire, chef du service de chimie à l’Institut du cancer de Villejuif et directeur des Services de l’identité judiciaire de la Préfecture de police (1930). Sannié est nommé professeur à la Faculté de médecine de Paris (1938), avant d’occuper la chaire de « Chimie appliquée aux corps organisés » du Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle (1941). Il succombe à la maladie le 29 mars 1957 à Paris. Les travaux du savant, très variés, concernent la synthèse organique, la cancérogenèse chimique et la phytochimie. Par ailleurs, comme Lacassagne, Bertillon ou Locard, Sannié est un pionnier de la criminalistique et de la police scientifique. Il a publié La Recherche scientifique du criminel (1954) et il a été co-auteur d’Instructions pratiques pour le relevé correct d’empreintes digitales (1940), ainsi que d’Éléments de police scientifique (1938-1940).

Illustration : Alice Guirado

février 2019

Anthony

Jean Anthony nait le 23 février 1915 à Châteaulin (Finistère). Après un baccalauréat ès lettres (1932), un doctorat en médecine (1939) et un doctorat ès sciences (1946), il fait carrière dans plusieurs établissements : au Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle – où il occupera finalement la chaire d’« Anatomie comparée » (1962) -, au CNRS et à l’École dentaire de Paris. Anthony prend sa retraite en 1984 et s’éteint le 1 er mai 2004 à Brest. Relevant du domaine de l’anatomie descriptive et comparée des Vertébrés, ses travaux concernent l’appareil venimeux des Serpents, ainsi que l’encéphale et les dents des Mammifères. Anthony décrit également, avec son collègue le professeur Jacques Millot (1897-1980), l’anatomie du Coelacanthe. Ce dernier travail a généré un monumental traité en trois volumes, (Anatomie de Latimeria chalumnae, 1958-1978) et un ouvrage de vulgarisation (Opération Coelacanthe, 1976).

Illustration : Camille Peyrard

janvier 2019

Becquerel

Né le 7 mars 1788 à Châtillon-sur-Loing (Loiret), Antoine-César Becquerel fait ses études supérieures à l’École Polytechnique. Il mène d’abord une carrière militaire. Retraité de l’armée en 1815, Antoine-César consacre le reste de sa vie professionnelle à la recherche. Il entre à l’Académie des sciences (1828) et devient le premier professeur de « Physique appliquée aux sciences naturelles » du Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle (1838). S’intéressant à la minéralogie, ainsi qu’à plusieurs domaines de la physique, le savant découvre des lois fondamentales. Il innove aussi sur le plan technique, concevant une pile à action constante, une balance électromagnétique, un galvanomètre différentiel, un thermomètre électrique, la galvanoplastie, une synthèse de cristaux minéraux, etc. Décédé le 18 janvier 1878 à Paris, Antoine-César initie une longue dynastie savante : son fils Edmond, son petit-fils Henri – découvreur de la radioactivité naturelle – et son arrière petit-fils Jean se succéderont dans sa chaire du Jardin des Plantes.

décembre 2018

Beauregard

Fils de praticien hospitalier, Henri Emmanuel BEAUREGARD (1851-1900) naît le 6 décembre 1851 au Havre. Il étudie à Paris la médecine et la pharmacie, devenant docteur ès sciences (1873), docteur en médecine (1877) et agrégé de pharmacie (1879). Après avoir débuté une carrière d’enseignant à l’École supérieure de Pharmacie de Paris, Beauregard quitte cet établissement pour devenir aide naturaliste de la chaire d’« Anatomie comparée » du Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle (1883). Il achève sa carrière comme professeur de « Cryptogamie » à la Faculté de pharmacie de Paris (1898) et décède prématurément à Grasse, le 25 mars 1900. Les travaux de Beauregard concernent la vascularisation de l’œil des Vertébrés, l’anatomie des Cétacés, l’ostéologie comparée, l’anatomie et la biologie des Insectes vésicants, ainsi que les Cryptogames de l’ambre gris. Á tout cela s’ajoutent plusieurs ouvrages pédagogiques (microscopie, matière médicale, etc.).

Illustration : Maxence Vandier

novembre 2018

Chauveau

Fils d’un maréchal-ferrant, Jean-Baptiste Augustin [dit Auguste] CHAUVEAU (1827-1917) étudie la médecine vétérinaire à l’école d’Alfort (1844-1848). Il rejoint ensuite Lyon, où il occupera deux chaires : celle d’« Anatomie et physiologie » à l’École vétérinaire (1863) et celle de « Médecine expérimentale et comparée » à la faculté de médecine et pharmacie (1877). Enfin, Chauveau sera le dernier professeur de « Pathologie comparée » au Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle (1886-1914). Ses travaux, qui lui valent d’entrer à l’Académie des sciences (1886), sont brillants. Chauveau décrit – avec Étienne-Jules Marey – les diverses phases du travail contractile du coeur, fondant ainsi la cardiologie moderne. Á cela s’ajoutent des études de neurologie, de bioénergétique et de pathologie infectieuse. Chauveau pressent l’origine microbienne des maladies animales, démontre l’unicité des tuberculoses humaine et bovine et prépare un vaccin anticharbonneux.

Illustration : Floriane Lingat

octobre 2018

Lacépède

De noble lignée, Bernard, Germain Étienne de LAVILLE-SUR-ILLON, comte de LA CEPÈDE (ou LACEPÈDE ou LACÉPÈDE) (1756-1825) se passionne pour la musique et la science. Buffon, qu’il admire, le nomme garde du cabinet au Jardin du Roi (1784). Après la chute de l’Ancien régime, Lacepède devient professeur de « Zoologie (Reptiles et Poissons) » au Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle et membre de l’Académie des sciences (1795). Sa carrière politique n’est pas moins brillante : député des assemblées constituante et législative, grand chancelier de la légion d’honneur, comte d’Empire, ministre d’État, pair de France, grand maître de l’université, Lacepède accumule les honneurs. Il est notamment l’auteur d’une Histoire naturelle des Quadrupèdes ovipares et des Serpents (1788-1789) et d’une grande Histoire naturelle des Poissons (1798-1803) qui prolongent l’œuvre de Buffon.

You are donating to : Greennature Foundation

How much would you like to donate?
$10 $20 $30
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Phone
Address
Additional Note
paypalstripe
Loading...